Unlimited Data Plans - 5GB or 500GB? The 2026 Fine Print

Bar chart comparing the data ceilings on major US unlimited plans, from AT&T Value at 5GB to Verizon Simplicity at 500GB

"Unlimited" has a number attached to it.
On some plans that number is 500 GB.
On others it's 5 GB.
Same word. Very different deal.


Last month I was streaming a game on my phone in a packed airport terminal.

Buffering wheel. Then 480p. Then a wheel again.

I hadn't come close to using up my data for the month. So what was going on?

Here's the thing that took me embarrassingly long to figure out: there are two completely different ways a US carrier can slow you down, and they have almost nothing to do with each other. Most articles about unlimited data plans mush them together, which is why the whole topic feels like fog.

Have you hit that wall too — the "I pay for unlimited, why is this crawling?" moment?

Let's clear the fog. No jargon dumps. And every speed number in this post gets translated into something you can actually picture: what video quality it plays.

Two things people call "throttling" are not the same thing

One is a ceiling. The other is a place in line.

That's the whole distinction, and once you have it, every carrier's fine print suddenly makes sense.

A ceiling (this is real throttling). You cross a data number, and your speed drops to a fixed figure — say 4 Mbps — and stays there until your bill cycle resets. It happens whether the network is busy or not. As one explainer puts it, throttling "happens whether the network is congested or not and usually takes place automatically after users have completely used up their specified data for that billing cycle."

A place in line (this is deprioritization). You cross your "premium data" number, and the carrier moves your traffic behind everyone else's — but only at the times and places where a cell tower is actually crowded. One industry explainer says it plainly: "It's important to note: deprioritization is not throttling. If the tower isn't busy, deprioritized users can still see excellent speeds."

Which means this:

The same deprioritized customer can get blazing speed at 2 a.m. on a country road and near-dial-up at a stadium at 8 p.m. Deprioritization ends when the congestion ends. Throttling ends when the month ends.

That airport terminal? Congestion. Classic deprioritization.

Side-by-side diagram showing throttling as a hard speed ceiling versus deprioritization as a queue position during network congestion

Under the hood, carriers tag your traffic with a priority number called a QCI value — lower number, higher priority. That's the last piece of jargon in this post, I promise. Independent plan-analysis sites have mapped roughly which plans sit at which level: AT&T puts FirstNet at the top and Unlimited Starter, Cricket and MVNOs at the bottom; Verizon puts consumer "premium data" plans like Unlimited Plus and Ultimate in the middle tier; T-Mobile drops heavy users into the lowest tier.

One honest caveat: those QCI tables are compiled by outside analysts, not published line-by-line by the carriers. A 2025 analysis noted that "specific premium data caps aren't disclosed publicly by carriers, making this information difficult to verify independently." So treat that mapping as well-sourced reporting, not gospel.

What 600 kbps, 1 Mbps, and 4 Mbps actually let you watch

4 Mbps still streams Netflix in HD. 600 kbps doesn't stream anything.

This is the section I wish existed when I started digging. Speed numbers mean nothing on their own — so let's convert them.

YouTube's official recommended sustained speeds:

Resolution Recommended speed
360p 0.7 Mbps
480p 1.1 Mbps
720p 2.5 Mbps
1080p 5 Mbps
4K UHD 20 Mbps

Netflix's official recommendations: HD (720p) needs 3 Mbps or higher, Full HD (1080p) needs 5 Mbps, and 4K needs 15 Mbps.

Now lay the carrier numbers on top:

  • 4 Mbps — Verizon's speed after 500 GB. Clears YouTube 720p and Netflix HD. Falls short of 1080p on both. Honestly? That's a genuinely usable slowdown, and that surprised me.
  • 6 Mbps — Verizon Ultimate's hotspot speed after 200 GB. Clears 1080p on both services.
  • 3 Mbps — Verizon hotspot after its limit on some plans. Exactly the Netflix HD floor. Nothing to spare.
  • 1 Mbps — Verizon Simplicity's hotspot speed after 10 GB. Below YouTube 480p (1.1 Mbps). You're in 360p territory.
  • 600 kbps — what T-Mobile and Verizon call "3G speeds" after your hotspot allowance is gone. That's below even YouTube 360p. This is the number that quietly makes tethering useless for video.

Here's a detail I loved: T-Mobile's video optimization ceiling for "SD quality" is up to 2.5 Mbps — which is, not by coincidence, exactly YouTube's 720p requirement.

Chart plotting US carrier throttle speeds of 0.6, 1, 3, 4 and 6 Mbps against horizontal reference lines for YouTube 360p through 1080p and Netflix HD and Full HD

Verizon publishes the number. The others mostly don't.

Verizon's official plan document names an exact ceiling — 500 GB — and an exact speed after it. No other big-three carrier is that specific.

Verizon's "Important Plan Information" page, effective July 1, 2026, says it in plain text: "After 500GB of data during a monthly billing cycle, speeds reduced to 4 Mbps for the remainder of that cycle."

Here's the whole lineup:

Verizon plan Hard ceiling Speed after Hotspot Video cap
Simplicity 500 GB/mo 4 Mbps 10 GB, then 1 Mbps 720p
Unlimited Welcome 500 GB/mo up to 4 Mbps none (100 GB add-on) 480p
Unlimited Plus unlimited premium 30 GB 4K on UW, 720p on LTE
Unlimited Ultimate unlimited premium 200 GB, then up to 6 Mbps 4K on UW, 1080p on LTE

There's also a separate rule for the very heaviest users: the top 0.5%. As of June 2026 that threshold was 1.2 TB in a billing cycle, after which speeds drop to 4 Mbps for the rest of the month.

The Simplicity plan is the whole story in one product

Verizon launched Simplicity in June 2026 at $30/line promotional pricing (eventually $45/line, autopay required). The marketing copy: "no tiers, no upsell, no 'premium access' fine print."

And yet Verizon's own legal document says speeds drop to 4 Mbps after 500 GB.

Both things are true at once. That's not a scandal — 500 GB is a genuinely enormous amount of data — but it is a perfect illustration of why "no fine print" claims deserve a squint.

AT&T: the ceiling depends on which tier you're on

AT&T overhauled its lineup in March 2026 with "Unlimited Your Way 2.0":

AT&T plan (2026) Price, 1 line w/ autopay High-speed data Hotspot Video
Value 2.0 $50 5 GB 3 GB SD
Extra 2.0 $70 100 GB 50 GB SD
Premium 2.0 $90 Unlimited 100 GB 4K UHD
Elite 2.0 $110 Unlimited 250 GB 4K UHD

Note the jump from Value to Extra: 5 GB to 100 GB. Twenty times the allowance for $20 more a month. That gap is where most of the confusion in this whole category lives.

If you're comparing against older write-ups, the numbers moved: the previous Extra EL had a 75 GB threshold at $75.99/month, and Extra 2.0 has 100 GB at $70. Both figures circulate online and both were correct — just for different plan generations.

And the entry tier deserves its own warning. AT&T's Starter/Value tier sits at the lowest priority level with no stated high-speed allotment at all before network management kicks in. In plain English: on the cheapest "unlimited" plan, you're deprioritized from your first byte during congestion. There's no threshold to cross because there's no bucket to empty.

AT&T also sells AT&T Turbo, a $7/month add-on for higher priority. Worth knowing: on Unlimited Extra, your data is still deprioritized after the plan's threshold even with Turbo turned on.

T-Mobile: the vaguest language of the three

T-Mobile's current Experience plans (launched April 23, 2025) say "unlimited premium data" for both Experience More ($85/line) and Experience Beyond ($100/line). Essentials Saver states "50 GB of premium data."

The company's own network policy defines a "Heavy Data User" as "a customer using more than a set amount of data on a billing cycle (generally 50GB or 100GB)" — and that word "generally" is doing a lot of work. The policy explicitly exempts Go5G Next, Go5G Plus and Magenta MAX customers from the label.

One heads-up on pricing: taxes and fees are no longer included on Experience plans, unlike the older Go5G plans. Mobile Internet Resource Center found an eight-line account moving from Go5G Plus to Experience More ended up paying $51 more in total despite the lower headline price.

Comparison table of Verizon, AT&T and T-Mobile unlimited plans showing price, data threshold, speed after threshold and hotspot allowance

A number you'll see recycled as "news" — but it's from 2017

You'll run into headlines about T-Mobile raising its soft cap from 32 GB to 50 GB. That's real, and it's well documented — T-Mobile Help confirmed it on Twitter with "Starting 9/20 the limit will be increased!"

But that was September 20, 2017. Not recent. If you see it presented as breaking news, someone recycled an old story. The genuinely new items are AT&T's March 2026 refresh and Verizon's June 2026 Simplicity launch.

Your hotspot is on a much shorter leash

The big "unlimited" number on the box is for using data on the phone itself. Tethering gets its own, much smaller number.

This is the most under-covered part of the whole topic, and it's the one that actually bites people — usually on a work trip, in a hotel, at the worst moment.

Carrier / plan On-device threshold Hotspot allowance Speed after
Verizon Simplicity 500 GB 10 GB 1 Mbps
Verizon Unlimited Welcome 500 GB none (100 GB add-on) 3 Mbps UW / 600 kbps LTE
Verizon Unlimited Plus unlimited 30 GB 3 Mbps UW / 600 kbps LTE
Verizon Unlimited Ultimate unlimited 200 GB 6 Mbps
AT&T Value 2.0 5 GB 3 GB not stated
AT&T Extra 2.0 100 GB 50 GB not stated
AT&T Premium 2.0 unlimited 100 GB not stated
AT&T Elite 2.0 unlimited 250 GB not stated
T-Mobile Experience More unlimited 60 GB 600 kbps
T-Mobile Experience Beyond unlimited 250 GB 600 kbps
T-Mobile Essentials 50 GB included, 3G speed 600 kbps

Look at the spread: 3 GB to 250 GB. That's an eighty-fold difference between the cheapest and priciest "unlimited" plans.

Verizon says the quiet part out loud in its own document: on Unlimited Plus, "Unlimited data is restricted to on-device smartphone usage."

And remember what 600 kbps means from the section above — below YouTube 360p. Once your hotspot allowance is gone, laptop video is done for the month.

Tablets get squeezed too. On Verizon, a tablet on the Unlimited plan has 50 GB of premium data per month; on Unlimited Plus it's 100 GB. Dedicated hotspot devices on the Plus plan get 50 GB before speeds drop to up to 3 Mbps.

Horizontal bar chart of mobile hotspot allowances across US unlimited plans ranging from 3GB on AT&T Value to 250GB on Elite and Experience Beyond

So will you actually hit any of these caps?

If you're an average American, you'll never touch Verizon's 500 GB. But you'll blow past AT&T Value's 5 GB in the first week.

Here's the number that settles it. According to the Ericsson Mobility Report (June 2026 edition), the average North American smartphone used 25 GB per month in 2025, and that's forecast to hit 52 GB by 2031 — about 13% growth a year. Globally the 2025 average was 22 GB, heading to 42 GB by 2031.

For context on how fast this moves: secondary reporting of Ericsson's data puts the 2018 average at roughly 4.9 GB a month. (That older figure comes from secondhand coverage rather than the primary report, so treat it as approximate.)

Now put 25 GB next to the thresholds:

Your plan's threshold If you use ~25 GB/month
AT&T Value 2.0 — 5 GB Gone in about a week
T-Mobile Essentials Saver — 50 GB Comfortable, but a heavy month gets you
AT&T Extra 2.0 — 100 GB You won't get near it
Verizon Simplicity / Welcome — 500 GB Not a chance
Verizon top-0.5% rule — 1.2 TB Different universe

To hit Verizon's 500 GB you'd need to burn roughly 16 GB a day, every single day, for a month.

Translating GB into something you can picture

"How much is 50 GB, really?"

If you take YouTube's own recommended speeds and just run them for an hour, you get a rough sense of scale:

Quality Roughly per hour
480p ~0.5 GB
720p ~1.1 GB
1080p ~2.2 GB

By that math, 5 GB is about two hours of 1080p video. 50 GB is around 23 hours. 100 GB is about 45 hours. And 500 GB is roughly 227 hours — call it seven and a half hours of Full HD video every single day for a month.

Note: that's a straight multiplication of YouTube's recommended speeds, not a measured consumption figure, so real-world usage will differ. It's for scale, not for billing disputes.

So here's the honest summary: for most people the ceilings are irrelevant, and the queue position is what actually matters. The plan that ruins your Tuesday isn't the one with a 500 GB cap. It's the cheap one that puts you at the back of the line every time a tower gets busy.

Chart comparing the 25GB North American monthly average against plan thresholds of 5GB, 50GB, 100GB and 500GB

The $100 million AT&T fine that was never paid

AT&T did pay a settlement over "unlimited" data. It was $60 million, and it came from the FTC — not the famous $100 million FCC number.

This one gets misreported constantly, so let's line it up in order.

October 28, 2014. The FTC filed a federal complaint charging that AT&T "misled millions of its smartphone customers by charging them for 'unlimited' data plans while reducing their data speeds, in some cases by nearly 90 percent."

The scale was startling. Throttling cut speeds by 80–90%. AT&T throttled at least 3.5 million unique customers more than 25 million times. It had started in 2011, and it could kick in after as little as 2 GB in a billing period.

May 2015. AT&T ended automatic throttling for legacy unlimited 4G LTE customers, switching to a congestion-only model. That pivot — from a hard ceiling to a queue position — is basically the origin story of today's entire "premium data" system.

June 17, 2015. The FCC proposed a $100 million fine, the largest in its history at the time, for violating the 2010 Open Internet Transparency Rule. The agency said AT&T slowed customers "to speeds so slow that smartphone apps could not function for up to 12 days during a billing cycle."

And then nothing happened. This is the part almost every article skips. It was a proposed fine, and AT&T never paid it. Both Republican commissioners dissented; then-Commissioner Ajit Pai wrote that "the justice dispensed here condemns a private actor not only in innocence but also in ignorance." By June 2017, the FCC told a court that a majority of sitting commissioners had dissented and "no further action has been taken on it."

2019. The FTC case settled. AT&T agreed to pay $60 million for failing to adequately disclose that crossing a data threshold would slow speeds "to the point that many common mobile phone applications, such as web browsing and video streaming, became difficult or nearly impossible to use."

2020 and 2024. AT&T issued bill credits and refund checks returning $52 million, and in April 2024 the FTC sent an additional nearly $6.3 million to consumers who'd filed valid claims but hadn't been paid.

So: $100 million = proposed, never collected. $60 million = actually paid. If you see "AT&T was fined $100 million," now you know.

Timeline of the AT&T unlimited data enforcement actions from the 2014 FTC complaint through the 2015 proposed FCC fine to the 2019 settlement and 2024 refunds

Honestly, here's what I couldn't nail down

A few things this post can't tell you with confidence, and I'd rather say so.

1. Some carrier pages wouldn't load for verification. AT&T's own legal and support pages blocked direct access during research (HTTP 403), as did a few plan-comparison sites. AT&T figures here come from independent reporting rather than att.com directly. One item in particular — reports that retired Unlimited Your Way customers saw price increases starting April 2026, offset by an extra 20 GB of hotspot data — comes only from search summaries of an AT&T support article I couldn't open. Worth confirming with AT&T before you act on it.

2. Disclosure quality is wildly uneven. Verizon publishes exact GB figures. T-Mobile says "generally 50GB or 100GB." AT&T sits somewhere in between. That variation isn't a footnote — it's arguably the real story. You can only comparison-shop on numbers that exist.

3. There's a live disagreement about T-Mobile Experience More. T-Mobile's own page says unlimited premium data. A competing carrier's blog says it's effectively 50 GB before deprioritization is considered. I'm going with T-Mobile's official page here; the 50 GB figure looks like the Essentials threshold.

4. And one about T-Mobile Essentials itself. One secondary site reported in April 2026 that Essentials was being discontinued and replaced by a $50 entry-level Go5G tier, with existing subscribers grandfathered. I couldn't confirm that against a T-Mobile newsroom release, and Essentials Saver still appears on T-Mobile's plan comparison page. So: unconfirmed, mentioned only because you may run into it.

Frequently asked questions

Q. Is my unlimited plan actually unlimited?
A. On most US plans, data is never fully cut off, but speeds can be reduced in one of two ways: a hard throttle after a stated ceiling, or deprioritization behind other users during congestion. Verizon's Simplicity and Unlimited Welcome plans, for example, are reduced to 4 Mbps after 500 GB in a billing cycle.

Q. What's the difference between throttling and deprioritization?
A. Throttling is a fixed speed ceiling that applies regardless of network conditions and lasts until your billing cycle resets. Deprioritization only affects you when a specific cell site is congested; when the congestion clears, your speed returns to normal.

Q. Can I still watch video after being throttled?
A. It depends on the speed. At 4 Mbps you can stream YouTube 720p (2.5 Mbps recommended) and Netflix HD (3 Mbps), but not 1080p (5 Mbps). At 600 kbps — the post-hotspot speed on several plans — you're below YouTube's 360p requirement of 0.7 Mbps.

Q. Why does my hotspot slow down before my phone does?
A. Because tethering has a separate, much smaller allowance. Verizon Simplicity includes 10 GB of hotspot against a 500 GB on-device ceiling, and AT&T Value 2.0 includes 3 GB. Verizon states directly that on Unlimited Plus, "unlimited data is restricted to on-device smartphone usage."

Q. Will an average user ever hit these limits?
A. The average North American smartphone used 25 GB per month in 2025 according to the Ericsson Mobility Report, so most people never approach a 100 GB or 500 GB ceiling. Entry-level plans with 5 GB or 50 GB thresholds are a different matter.

Q. Does paying for AT&T Turbo remove the limits?
A. No. Turbo is a $7/month add-on that raises your network priority, but on Unlimited Extra your data is still deprioritized once you pass the plan's threshold.

One line to check on your plan tonight

You don't need to switch carriers over this.

Just open your carrier app and find two numbers:

  1. Your plan's high-speed or "premium" data allowance
  2. Your mobile hotspot allowance

That second one is where almost everyone gets surprised. If it says 3 GB or 10 GB, plan your next work trip accordingly.

And if your plan is an entry-level tier with no stated threshold at all, the number you're looking for doesn't exist — which is itself the answer. You're in the slow lane whenever the tower is busy, and no amount of restraint on your part changes that.

Reading through all of this, the thing that struck me isn't that carriers slow people down. It's that three companies selling the same word use it to mean five different things, and only one of them writes the number down.

How about you?

  1. Just found out my hotspot cap is tiny 📶
  2. Knew about the caps, didn't know about the queue 🚦
  3. I'm on a top-tier plan and none of this touches me 😎

Drop a 1, 2 or 3 in the comments — I'm curious how many people are on entry tiers without realizing what that means.

And if you want the next one of these when it's out, subscribe. I'm working through the parts of a phone bill nobody reads.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

HSA vs FSA: Does Your FSA Roll Over? It Depends on Your Plan